Listen to Sappho

sisterofiris:

Hi guys!

I know I said I wouldn’t post another recording for a while, but I lied I’d been working on this one for a while and I decided to share it before plunging into my textbooks for good.

I wasn’t familiar with Sappho until very recently (and wow, did I miss out on something). When I read her work for the first time, her fragments reminded me of whispers – sometimes easily heard, sometimes indistinct, sometimes unintelligible. Hence the idea for this recording was born. It took me a long time to select the lines I wanted to use, but in the end, I am pleased with the result.

The recording traces the course of a full day, from dawn to night, with a complete poem at the midpoint. For the background whispers, I used some of Sappho’s more fragmented texts, following similar themes. The translations are not my own; they are from the Loeb edition of Sappho’s writing. The fragments I used, in order, are:

Background whispers: 4, 20, 24, 21, 63, 213b
Morning fragments: 175, 171, 84, 122, 2, 47
Complete poem: 16
Evening fragments: 104, 149, 163, 147

I hope you enjoy it 🙂 And thank you for all the comments, likes and reblogs you have made on my other recordings, I appreciate every single one of them!

Leave a Reply

