24/30 Days of deity devotion

Day Twenty-four: A time when this deity has helped you

A few years ago, I hurt myself weightlifting. On the last rep of the last deadlift, my right hip shifted out of socket. If you’ve ever dislocated your shoulder, you have an idea of the level of pain I experienced. For those who haven’t dislocated a shoulder, the pain was close to 9 on a scale of 1-10, with ten being the worst.

The good news: I was exercising at home. The bad news: I was in the basement. I painfully made it up the dozen steps, one at at time. Then, desperate for a hot shower, I made it up a dozen more. I had to go back downstairs to get something to eat, and for some Ibuprofen for the inflammation.

I was absolutely certain I would be unable to work the next day, that I would need to see my doctor, and that he would probably excuse me from work for at least a week. This was upsetting because the hospital clinic where I worked was very busy, and they needed me to help take care of the patients. I decided to sleep on the sofa that night, because it seemed likely that I would be unable to walk up or down any steps the next morning. The sofa wasn’t too uncomfortable, and I prayed to Asclepius while I drifted off to sleep.

Sometime that night, I had a lucid dream. I could hear water splashing, and I knew it was from a fountain in the courtyard outside the room where I was sleeping.  In the dream, I dreamed he visited me, put his hand on my head, and blessed me. I woke up a little, realized the pain had greatly diminished, thanked him profusely, and fell back asleep.

When the alarm clock went off the next morning, the dream was still vivid in my mind. My hip was sore, but nothing like I had expected it would be. To my surprise, I was able to stand up and walk. I instead of phoning my doctor for an appointment, I went to work. My job involved a lot of standing and walking, but I was able to handle it. I was sore by the end of the day, but the pain remained manageable with Ibuprofen. A similar injury had led to me having work restrictions and physical therapy but this time I was able to continue working and maintained a normal routine.

I credit Asclepius for healing me – and I’m certain he did so because the work I performed at my job was his work.

Leave a Reply

